(706) 499-8842 • Call. Text. Leave Message.
Habersham County was formed from two Cherokee Cessions, the first on July 8, 1817, and the other on February 27, 1819 (Legislative Acts of December 15, 1818, and December 19, 1818). It was named for Colonel Joseph Habersham and was originally 31 miles long and 23 miles wide, with an area of 713 square miles. The four main settlements in the county were Tugaloo, Soque, Nacoochee, and Batesville.
Appreciation to the Habersham County Bicentennial Committee for providing the historical content on this page.
In 1873, the town was called Longview, established along the railroad line. At the time, this railroad was known as Atlanta & Richmond Air Line Railway.
The City of Baldwin was incorporated by an act of the Georgia General Assembly on Dec. 17, 1896 on some 250 acres . . .
Clarkesville, the county seat of Habersham, received its charter in 1823. The city was named for Gen. John C. Clarke . . .
The City of Cornelia is a pleasant, picturesque small town at the gateway to the North Georgia mountains, surrounded by rich history. The city, originally founded as a settlement around 1860, was situated near the boundary line between the Cherokee and the Creek Native American tribes.
The land where Demorest is now located was given by the State of Georgia to W. Stripling in 1829. Stripling did little with the land and in 1840 transferred it to Dr. Paul Rossignol who built a summer home on the west side of Lake Demorest.
Mount Airy was established in 1874 when a station on the Richmond and Danville railroad was built at the highest elevation between New Orleans and New York. Founded and developed by Colonel M.C. Wilcox . . .
The Cherokees were the first known residents of the area now known as Tallulah Falls and, around 1670, the first white men settled in the area.
Copyright © 2018 Habersham County Historical Society, Inc.
All rights reserved.